top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureadriannajtetnowski

Things I've started (or stopped) doing to help the environment


It's so important for everyone to starting thinking about how they can help the environment, even if it's in the smallest of ways. I wish I could say I'm perfect at being zero waste but, I'm actually far from it and boy do I know it. So, recently I'd decided to make a few changes to help me out on my zero waste journey, and I hope it helps you too. (NOTE: This article is in no way encouraging you to go out and spend loads of money on random things you think will help the environment. Only invest in things that you know you'll actually need, and that will save you money in the long run).


Compost Bin


I bought a compost bin. It isn't a huge one, and it fits in perfectly with the decor of my kitchen (here's the link if you're interested - https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00Z65KDQ0/ref=twister_B01I4OEALS?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1) . I've started adding food that otherwise would have been thrown away into this cute little compost bin, and it best of all it doesn't leave a nasty smell. Now, we can save scraps in the kitchen and let them decompose into nutritional compost for our plants outside.



Started making more homemade food


I'm vegan for many reasons - love of animals, it's better for the environment and my bank account, and it's healthier than a regular diet. But, things like tofu and oat milk can get expensive after a while, which sucks. I bought a tofu press, a nut milk bag and a glass milk bottle and (yup, you guessed it) started making some of my own vegan produce. I've lost count of how many empty milk carton bottles and plastic tofu bags I've stopped having to throw away. It's amazing! Say NO to single use plastic! Not buying store bought milk has saved me soooo much money alone.



I bought smaller bins

What's a great way of reducing rubbish? Get a smaller bin. This might sound strange, since smaller bins might actually end up forcing you to just go out and empty them more but, if you get a smaller pair of bins, one for green waste and the other for blue, you might actually find you'll end up producing less waste. Having a huge bin always seemed to be an excuse for me to just fill it up for whatever reason. Maybe, just because it was big and had lots of space? Opt for smaller bins, you'll hopefully starting creating less waste as time goes on.



I stopped eating takeaways (as much)

It's great to support local businesses, especially if they're small but, weekly takeaways can create so much waste it's unbelievable. Empty pizza boxes, tons of empty fizzy drink bottles, and styro-bloody-foam boxes. Uh, they were the worst. Either reduce how many takeaways you have a month and opt for fakeaways (shops like Tesco have great vegan pizzas, curries, or comfort foods that use way less packaging), or see if you can ask the takeaway places to somehow use less cardboard/plastic/styrofoam packaging.



Shopping loosely

There is so much plastic being used to package fruits, veggies and well...everything. It's almost becoming impossible to not find plastic on or around anything. Which is why I'd invested in some handy dandy reusable produce bags (I got these ones - https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B07G9T9JLK/ref=pe_3187911_185740111_TE_item) and I take them with me when I go shopping now. Not only is buying loose fruit and vegetables cheaper, and guarantees you produce less waste because you only buy what you should hopefully need, it means you also don't have to contribute to anymore single use plastic production.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Plastic Free July 2020

I've been trying so many new ways to be sustainable, and I have to admit my biggest struggle has been reducing the amount of plastic I use. That's everything down from plastic drinks bottles, to plast

Guest Posts

https://www.peacefuldumpling.com/morning-habits https://www.peacefuldumpling.com/cottagecore https://www.peacefuldumpling.com/cottagecore-activities

Designed by Adrianna J. Tetnowski | Powered by Wix.com

adriannajtetnowski

bottom of page